Only In Onslow
Heading Image

Hospitality Service Awards

Arrow Down

Onslow County Tourism Hospitality Service Award Program

Onslow County Tourism’s Service Rewards Program is a crown jewel in our program of work.  Tourism is constantly striving to tell our area’s story as a destination to discover. However, we are rarely able to greet those visitors face to face. Through our Service Reward Program, we can highlight and honor the front-line staff that makes the biggest difference in a consumer and visitor’s experience.

Onslow County Tourism selects three individuals to honor each month for their exemplary hospitality and helpfulness to visitors that come to our area to enjoy restaurants, attractions and events in Onslow County.  These individuals are the face of our community and welcome our visitors, helping to make them feel important and appreciated. Their actions can influence longer stays, return stays, or referrals for friends and family to visit as well. These individuals are chosen through nominations and  "secret shopper" evaluations.

Out of these nominations, three worthy honorees are chosen each month, between January to November and are automatically considered for our Hospitality Person of the Year.  All thirty-three honorees are contacted during December in which they are quizzed to share as many suggestions of things to see and do as if they were pitching our area to a visitor highlighting attractions, festivals and events, restaurants etc.

The honoree with the highest score is deemed our Hospitality Person of the Year.  The individual selected will receive a $500 Visa Gift Card and will be honored at the Jacksonville Onslow County Chamber Annual Meeting held in February.  The winner will also participate in the Annual Christmas Holiday Parade in Jacksonville, NC that takes place the Saturday before Thanksgiving.

January 2020 Award Winners

Nicole Lovejoy
Spectrum, Jacksonville

Jacob Marshburn
Courtyard by Marriott, Jacksonville

Carolyn Wainwright
Quality Inn of Sneads Ferry

2018 Hospitality Person of the Year

Shannon Hobbs-Silva, Instructor/Paddle Guide for Swansboro Paddle Boarding

After years of working in the laboratory science industry, Shannon traded in her safety googles, rubber gloves and bunsen burner for sunglasses, a paddle and sunscreen – nature’s sciences “were” a calling.
She glides on water, standing and sitting…assists with finding buried treasure that once belonged to coastal sea creatures and mammals…provides history lessons of Swansboro and its folk lore…man’s a watercraft with precise precision navigating the channel marker buoys with her ponytail flying in the wind…all the while watching over her clients with tender care, a bright smile, kinds words and patience, insuring their safety and experiences on the water are positive and memorable.

Swansboro Paddle Boarding’s clientele is largely visitors vacationing in the area, military families and their guests, and many from inland counties that boarder Onslow. With Swansboro serving as one of Onslow County’s front doors, Shannon’s demonstration of leadership, outstanding customer service and commitment to excellence are invaluable resources to the identity of Onslow County as a caring community of smiling faces with beautiful and historical places.

Shannon is currently finishing up her EMT certification at Coastal Carolina Community College and plans to further her degree in the “sciences” to Paramedic Sciences in the fall. Her job title may change in the upcoming future, but her impeccable frontline people skills learned during her tenure with Swansboro Paddle Boarding will transfer over and aide in her new journey serving Onslow County in a whole new way.

If you've had an exceptional experience at one of Onslow's restaurants, attractions or local businesses, we would like to hear about it!

Please use the form below to submit your nomination.